Hello Oxford!

I've been to Oxford today! WOHO! :) When I decided to come to England, I actually chose between Oxford and Exeter. The reason I chose Exeter was partly because of the prices. Much more expensive in Oxford.

Anyway. Oxford met my expectations. I loved the city and its lovely atmosphere! I walked around all day by myself, which I actually prefer when it comes to visiting new places. No rush. Take your time.

To walk up to St. Mary the Virgin's tower was the first thing I did, to get a nice view of the city. Look at all the old buildings: those are colleges or universities.




And then I walked down to Christ Church College, the most famous college in Oxford. The scenes for the first two Harry Potter films were shot at Christ Church (The Dining Hall), and the author Lewis Carroll, who wrote Alice's adventures in Wonderland, was a mathematician here and became inspired to write the books inside the college and outside, in "Christ Church Meadow".

Beautiful, isn't it? Imagine the atmosphere!


The Thames!


On the opposite street of CCC, I found this Alice shop, where I bought some cute Alice in Wonderland stuff!


The famous Dining Hall! Very touristy... but cool! Imagine being a student here and have lunch in this hall every day! Luxury!



Radcliffe Camera - a "reading room" for the Bodleian. Only smart people may enter..


Lincoln College


Bodleian Library - the oldest library in the world with over 3 million books!


I took lots of other pics, but they are too many to upload here. For you in Sweden who are interested, I'll show you when I come back! Anyway, the last place I went to visit was one of the best things of the day. I went to "The Eagle and the Child", which is the pub where J.R.R Tolkien, CS Lewis and co gathered every Tuesday for many years, to talk about their books over a pint! Such a wonderful atmosphere in there. Wow.



"C.S Lewis, his brother W.H Lewis, J.R.R Tolkien, Charles Williams and other friends met every Tuesday morning, between the years 1939-1962 in the back room of this their favourite pub. These men, popularly known as the "Inklings", met here to drink Beer and to discuss, among other things, the books they were writing."

A PERFECT DAY! Now I'm totally knackered, and it's late. Off to bed!

Kommentarer
Postat av: Esra

MY GOD!!!



I'm never speaking to you again! >_<

Ouch, just did...

2011-05-03 @ 00:27:46
Postat av: Olivia

Du hade dött Esra, förstår att du ser fram emot England - du måste åka! :D Oxford var att dö för faktiskt.


Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress:

URL:

Kommentar:

Trackback